Pasco-Hernando State repeats as FCSAA cross country champions

Pasco-Hernando State College Cross Country
Photo courtesy of Greg Rowland

Individual Results | Team Results | Photo Gallery

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (October 30, 2017) - Pasco-Hernando State College won its second straight women's cross country state championship on October 28 at Apalachee Regional Park in Tallahassee.

Running on the same course where the NCAA has awarded the 2021 Cross Country Championships, the Bobcats had five of the top eight finishers in the 37-person field, successfully defending its team championship with 25 points in the scoring. 

South Florida State College was a distant second place with 67 points, finishing just ahead of Tallahassee Community College, who had 69 points. 

Florida State College at Jacksonville, new to the sport in 2017, came in fourth (86 points) followed by Chipola College (123 points).

Tallahassee's Meagan Giddens won the individual championship, finishing the 5000-meter race in a school-record 20:06.7. In addition to being named FCSAA Runner of the Year, Giddens headed up the NJCAA All-Region 8/FCSAA All-State team comprised of the top five individual runners. 

Individual runner-up Quincy Mayer (20:24.0) was one of three Pasco-Hernando State runners on the all-state team. She was joined by Kylyn Burbine (20:50.9) and Lauren Hale (21:27.6), who finished fourth and fifth, respectively. 

Florida State College's Michaela Scruti (20:41.4) finished third. 

Pasco-Hernando State's Jackie Wachtel was named FCSAA Coach of the Year. 

Up next is the NJCAA Cross Country Championships in Fort Dodge, Iowa, on November 11 followed by the season-ending NJCAA Half Marathon in Topeka, Kansas, on November 18.