Pasco-Hernando State claims FCSAA's inaugural cross country championship

Pasco-Hernando State claims FCSAA's inaugural cross country championship

Meet results

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (November 4, 2016) - Pasco-Hernando State College claimed the Florida College System Activities Association's (FCSAA) first-ever cross country championship. 

The event, held at Tallahassee's Apalachee Regional Park, featured female runners from Pasco-Hernando State, South Florida State College, Chipola College and newcomer Tallahassee Community College. 

The Quistas, led by individual champion Charlene Sanchez, tallied 33 points to capture the state championship. South Florida State was close behind in second with 37 points. 

Tallahassee took third place with 60 points while Chipola finished fourth with 95 points. 

Sanchez completed the 5K in 20:28.91, seven seconds faster than South Florida State's Grace Miller, who took second with a time of 20:35.59. 

Pasco-Hernando State's Cynthia Negron was the only other runner who broke the 21-minute mark, running a 20:57.58 to claim third place. South Florida State's Julia Soto (21:06.70) finished fourth and Pasco-Hernando State's Kylyn Burbine was fifth (21:09.58).

Two Tallahassee runners, Samantha Reilly and Mia Wiederkehr, finished sixth and seventh, respectively. Reilly ran a 21:26.22 while Wiederkehr finished in 21: 32.28. 

Lydia Wiedeman was Chipola's top finisher, running a 22:09.18, good for 11th place. 

The top seven runners - Sanchez, Miller, Negron, Soto, Burbine, Reilly and Wiederkehr - also comprised the NJCAA Region 8/FCSAA All-State Team.

Pasco-Hernando State's Jacki Wachtel was named Coach of the Year. 

Runners from Pasco-Hernando State, South Florida State and Tallahassee will head to El Dorado, Kan., for the NJCAA Division I Cross Country Championship on November 12.