Miami Dade captures FCSAA DI Volleyball Crown

Photo courtesy of Tom Hagerty, Polk State College

Tournament Photo Gallery

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. (November 3, 2019) - No. 2 seed Miami Dade College knocked off third-seed Hillsborough Community College in four sets to win the NJCAA Region/FCSAA State Division I Volleyball Championship on Sunday afternoon.

Earlier on Sunday, Hillsborough earned its berth in the championship match with an epic, five-set win to eliminate top-seed Polk State College.

All three teams will advance to next weekend's NJCAA District Tournament in Ocala, Fla. As the region/state champion, Miami Dade will be the top seed in the four-team event, which also includes Spartanburg (S.C.) Methodist College, the winner of Region 10. 

Miami Dade will play No. 4 seed Polk State at 6 p.m., Friday, November 8. No. 2 seed Hillsborough and No. 3 Spartanburg Methodist will play at 3 p.m. The winners will meet at 1 p.m., Saturday, November 9. 

Miami Dade made its way to Sunday's championship match with wins over Florida State College at Jacksonville, Hillsborough and Polk State.

The Sharks' Camila De La Rosa was named the Tournament's Most Outstanding Player. She was joined on the all-tournament team by: Sherine Dahoue, Miami Dade; Erika Asencio, Miami Dade; Vanda Zimova, Miami Dade; Aixa Vigil, Polk State; Suared Molina, Polk State; Mariane Cassiano, Polk State; Isabel Martin, Hillsborough; Carolina Molossi-Benke, Hillsborough; Olivia Piazza, Hillsborough; Julia De Sa, Florida SouthWestern; Essence Bell, Central Florida. 

Miami Dade's Kiko Benoit was named the Mary Andre Coach of the Year: Kiko Benoit, Miami Dade.