Miami Dade repeats as NJCAA volleyball champions

Miami Dade College, 2017 NJCAA Volleyball Champions
Photo courtesy of NJCAA

HUTCHINSON, Kan. (November 19, 2017) - Miami Dade College completed an undefeated season on Saturday by winning the NJCAA Division I Volleyball Championship.

The Sharks defeated the College of Southern Idaho in straight sets (25-13, 25-21, 25-18) to put the finishing touch on a 34-0 season and the school's sixth volleyball national championship. 

Saturday's championship match was a familiar ending for Miami Dade, who won in straight sets for the 24th time this season. In fact, the Sharks dropped only 12 sets (out of 114) all season and just two in four matches at the Sports Arena during national tournament play.

After a straight set win over Wallace (Ala.) State Community College in the opening round, Miami Dade ran into a familiar foe in round two - Region 8 rival Polk State College. The Sharks needed four sets to beat the Eagles for the fifth time in 2017, winning 25-18, 17-25, 26-24, 28-26.

Miami Dade knocked off New Mexico Military Institute, 3-1, in the semifinals. 

Following the loss to Miami Dade, Polk State picked up wins over Hill (Texas) College and Mineral Area (Mo.) College to claim fifth place. 

St. Petersburg College, the third Region 8 participant in the 16-team field, split its first two matches then fell to Laramie County (Wyo.) Community College in the 9th place semifinals match.

Massiel Matos was named Tournament Most Valuable Player and was joined on the all-tournament team by teammates Camila Hernandez and Sun Wenting, as well as Polk State College's Anilise Fitzi.

In the Division II tournament, Pasco-Hernando State College brought home a seventh-place finish.

The Bobcats swept Mott (Mich.) Community College in three sets in the opening round and won the first two sets in round two vs. Coffeyville (Kan.) Community College before the Red Ravens rallied for the five-set win.

Coffeyville went on to win the national championship. 

Following a four-set loss to Mesa (Ariz.) Community College, Pasco-Hernando State beat Sauk Valley (Ill.) Community College in straight sets to claim the seventh-place finish.

Pasco-Hernando State's Cara Butler was named to the all-tournament team.