NJCAA announces roster and staff for NBC World Series

NJCAA announces roster and staff for NBC World Series

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (June 29, 2016) - Six student-athletes and three coaches/administrators from Region 8 have been selected to participate in the National Baseball Congress (NBC) World Series, scheduled for July 29-August 13 in Wichita, Kan.

The NJCAA Baseball Coaches Association announced this year’s NJCAA National Team roster and coaching staff on Wednesday.

Representing 22 colleges from 11 states across all three divisions of NJCAA baseball, the national team features some of the best two-year college players from across the country.

Six members of the 26-man roster are from Region 8:

  • Rhett Aplin, INF, Seminole State College
  • Brooks Buckler, P, Tallahassee Community College
  • Handsome Monica, C, Northwest Florida State College
  • Jarrett Montgomery, P, Northwest Florida State College
  • Deyvid Silva, SS, Tallahassee Community College
  • John Tatum, INF, South Florida State College

Additionally, Northwest Florida State College head coach Doug Martin is an assistant coach, South Florida State College head coach/athletic director Rick Hitt will serve as Team USA’s general manager and Florida SouthWestern State College assistant athletic director George Sanders will serve as the team trainer.

The NBC World Series is an annual late-summer tournament that serves as a showcase for some of the best amateur baseball players and teams in North America.