Region 8 harriers earn academic accolades

Photo courtesy of Michael Schwarz
Photo courtesy of Michael Schwarz

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (March 30, 2020) – The NJCAA Cross Country Coaches Association recently announced its 2019 Scholar All-America awards, honoring both individuals and teams for excellence in the classroom during the Fall 2019 term. 

Sixteen females and eight males earned Scholar All-America status for posting a GPA of 3.4 or higher. 

Nine females topped the list with a 4.0 GPA, including three apiece from Daytona State College and Pasco-Hernando State College, who finished second and fourth, respectively, in the team standings, which required a minimum 3.2 GPA. 

Daytona State was represented by Kylie Dedeo, Jenny Enslin and Kristina Gray while Pasco-Hernando State was represented by Katerina Dobkowski, Zoey Speros and Sydney Stoltzfoos. 

Tallahassee Community College’s Genevieve Printiss and Kendall Ward and Florida State College at Jacksonville’s Allison Newkirk also posted 4.0 GPAs. Newkirk helped FSCJ to a No. 19 ranking in the team standings. 

Other females who earned Scholar All-America honors were: Hannah Offenback, Daytona State; Sarah Griffin, Florida Gateway College; Brenna Moran, Pasco-Hernando State; Joann Speros, Pasco-Hernando State; Arionne McCall, Tallahassee; Christen Odum, Florida Gateway; and Isabel Oliveto, Pasco-Hernando State. 

FSCJ’s John Bear and Daytona State’s Adam Mastrobuono led the group of male honorees, both posting 4.0 GPAs. 

Mastrobuono was joined by teammates Andy Martinez, August Healy and Tyler Baker to help the Falcons to a 12th-place finish in the team standings while Bear and teammate Alden Biala led the Blue Wave to a No. 17 ranking. 

Tallahassee’s Rodolph Adonis and Daniel Randolph rounded out the men’s honorees.